The Reynolds Mansion, now a luxury bed and breakfast in Bellefonte, was placed on the National Historic Register in 1977. It was built in 1885 by Major William Frederick Reynolds, a wealthy businessman, landowner, and banker. The home, designed by renowned archietect C.S.Wetzel, is of the late Victorian period featuring an eclectic blend of Gothic, Italianate, and Queen Anne styles. The stone for the exterior was quarried by the Hummelstown Brownstone Company in Hummelstown, PA. Due to its purple or blue cast, it is referred to as blue brownstone. The Carriage House, situated at the back of the property, was built in 1893, and the semi-circular addition was built in 1901. This building was also once used as a chapel.
The Andriaccios believe that while choosing to stay in the Bellefonte/State College area, the Reynolds Mansion truly stands out in a town full of outstanding properties. On first sight, the majestic appearance of the Mansion inspires guests to explore the inside. Entering through the lavish marble foyer complete with infinity mirrors and an original gas lamp, guests discover the period-specific grand common areas including the living room, billiard room, dining room, and Snuggery (a room where gentlemen retired to enjoy brandy and cigars). Interior details of the Mansion include classic mirrors, handcrafted woodwork, stained glass windows, detailed molding, and inlaid parquet floors of which no two are the same. The woodwork of the Mansion is a very interesting part of the construction. The paneled ceiling in the main hall is a rich walnut, as well as the staircase which is hand carved and adorned with a brass lamp on the newel post. The dining room, however, features chestnut wood, which is warm, inviting, and light. Perhaps most interesting is the use of pressed plaster, stained to look like wood, used in the billiard room as molding. Another unique feature is the functioning enunciator located in the kitchen. This original fixture was used to alert servants where their help was needed. The mansion boasts 13 fireplaces, adorned with original ornate tiles that were hand crafted by the International Tile Co., Brooklyn, NY.